All Articles

Margaret Atwood: Which Future? Fiction and the Everything Change

Author: Stacey Maifeld

Margaret Atwood is an author, poet and environmental activist whose work is widely known for its commentary on the human condition and female experience.

Her more than forty books include The Handmaid’s Tale, The Blind Assassin, and The Heart Goes Last. Her MaddAddam trilogy, which began with the Oryx and Crake, is currently being adapted into an HBO series. Her forthcoming book, Hag-Seed, is a modern retelling of Shakespeare’s The Tempest.

Atwood’s many international literary awards include the prestigious Booker Prize for contemporary fiction, Arthur C. Clarke Award in science fiction and the Governor General’s Award for fiction in her native Canada. Atwood’s critical acclaim is equally matched by her popularity among readers and following on Twitter.

Cosponsored By:
Ames Public Library Friends Foundation
MFA Program in Creative Writing and Environment
Office of Sustainability
Pearl Hogrefe Visiting Writer Series
The Green Umbrella
University Library
World Affairs
Committee on Lectures (funded by Student Government)