All Articles

Innovation Leadership and Mindset Workshop – Gen-Z: Teaching in the Classroom and Beyond

Author: las-digital


Sara Marcketti, Morrill Professor and Director of CELT
Innovation Leadership and Mindset Workshop


Generations share the coincidence of birth year grouping, as well as, similar tastes, attitudes, and experiences. From the Silent Generation, to Baby Boomers, to Gen X, to Millennials, these groups experience certain local and global circumstances: economic, technological, and social, that contribute to their (often)-shared characteristics.

Gen-Z, born 1996 to 2012, currently between 8 and 24 years old, number 74 million in the United States. National and international events such as the advancement of technology, issues of violence even within schools, a volatile economy, and social justice movements profoundly influenced the attitudes and behaviors of this generation. Having grown up never knowing a time without smart phones and social media, Gen-Z uses technology as an extension of themselves. This generation is also the most diverse in American history. In this interactive presentation, participants will consider Gen Z attributes and effective means of teaching and interacting with the generational cohort inside and outside of the classroom.

Sara Marcketti is Morrill Professor in the department of Apparel, Events, and Hospitality Management (acronym: AESHM or pronounced awesome!) and serves as the Director of the Center for Excellence in Learning and Teaching (CELT). She leads CELT in fulfilling its mission of “partnering with educators to advance student centered learning at ISU.” Research and teaching specialties include:

-Creative Thinking Development
-History of the U.S. Apparel Industry
-Scholarship of Teaching and Learning
-A graduate of the University of Georgia and Iowa State University, Dr. Marcketti received UGA’s Pacesetter Award and the Family, the FACS 100 Centennial Honorees, and ISU’s Outstanding Young Alumni Award. A Fellow of the Costume Society of America, Marcketti serves proudly as past-president of CSA.